Final Fantasy 14 Fans Disheartened by Recent Alteration to Stormblood Dungeon

In the realm of Final Fantasy 14, avid fans have found themselves in a state of discontent due to an unfortunate modification to the beloved Drowned City of Skalla dungeon. This alteration entails the removal of a captivating mechanic that once transformed players into ethereal apparitions. The decision to eliminate this feature was part of the ongoing expansion of the Duty Support system in Final Fantasy 14, which aims to enhance the player experience.

Patch 6.5: “Growing Light” Brings Both Joy and Disappointment

The latest installment, “Growing Light,” heralds Patch 6.5 in Final Fantasy 14. It introduces a new chapter in the Main Scenario quest, the epic conclusion to the Myths of the Realm raid, and enriching content for the Island Sanctuary. However, one significant change has left a bittersweet taste in the mouths of players – the completion of the Duty Support system throughout the entirety of Stormblood. While this change allows players to tackle the Final Fantasy 14 Main Scenario almost entirely on their own, it also brings about unintended consequences.

The Unfortunate Alteration of the Drowned City of Skalla

Regrettably, the alteration to the Drowned City of Skalla stands as a prime example of this. In the latter part of the dungeon, players once had to traverse a series of chasms to reach the final boss. This journey was achieved by stepping on a glyph that would magically transform them into a zangbeto – a whimsical, jiggling ghost encountered within the dungeon – enabling them to soar across the chasms. Now, this once-magical transformation has been replaced by the mundane spawning of a bridge upon defeating each group of adversaries.

Additional Dungeon Changes and Their Impact

The adjustments didn’t stop at the Drowned City of Skalla. Several encounters in dungeons such as Skalla, The Burn, and the Ghimlyt Dark have also undergone modifications aimed at reducing player frustration. While the dungeons themselves have largely remained unchanged, a significant transformation occurs with the presence of characters Hien and Yugiri, who are now integrated as Duty Support characters. This means that they no longer appear as non-playable characters (NPCs) in the midst of combat. Consequently, Lyse consistently employs the Limit Break ability on the Magitek giant near the dungeon’s conclusion, leaving fans to lament the loss of variety as Hien’s distinctive Limit Break animation, formerly randomly selected, is no longer a part of the equation.

Understanding the Rationale Behind the Changes

The rationale behind the change in Skalla’s mechanics is, to some extent, understandable. Programming the NPCs to embody the ghostly form likely posed numerous technical challenges, especially since players risked death if the transformation buff ran out while they were mid-air. Additionally, some players found the slow-moving form annoying as the novelty of the gimmick wore off. Regardless, the removal of this unique and enjoyable feature has left many fans disheartened.

Final Thoughts on Final Fantasy 14’s Evolution

These changes to the Drowned City of Skalla are consistent with Final Fantasy 14’s modern, streamlined design philosophy. As players await further details about the upcoming Dawntrail expansion, they must hold onto their cherished memories of jiggling ghosts.

Final Fantasy 14 Platform Availability

Final Fantasy 14 is currently available on PC, PS4, and PS5, with the Xbox Series X/S version set to launch in Spring 2024.


  • What is Final Fantasy 14?
    Final Fantasy 14 is a popular MMORPG set in a rich and immersive fantasy world.
  • How can I download Final Fantasy 14?
    You can download Final Fantasy 14 from its official website or through the respective platforms’ stores.
  • Is there a free trial available for Final Fantasy 14?
    Yes, Final Fantasy 14 offers a free trial that allows players to explore the game’s features before making a purchase.
  • Who are the prominent characters in Final Fantasy 14?
    Final Fantasy 14 features a diverse cast of characters, each with their unique roles and stories.
  • What are the key changes introduced in Patch 6.5 of Final Fantasy 14?
    Patch 6.5, also known as “Growing Light,” brings significant changes and additions to Final Fantasy 14, including a new chapter in the Main Scenario quest and more.
  • Why did the Drowned City of Skalla’s mechanics change in Final Fantasy 14?
    The mechanics of the Drowned City of Skalla were altered to align with the game’s evolving design philosophy and technical considerations.
  • Are there other dungeons in Final Fantasy 14 that underwent changes?
    Yes, several other dungeons in Final Fantasy 14, including Skalla, The Burn, and the Ghimlyt Dark, received modifications to improve the player experience.
  • What is the Duty Support system in Final Fantasy 14?
    The Duty Support system in Final Fantasy 14 is designed to offer assistance to players during specific in-game challenges.
  • What is the Dawntrail expansion in Final Fantasy 14, and when can we expect it?
    The Dawntrail expansion is an upcoming addition to Final Fantasy 14, but further details about its release are yet to be revealed.
  • How can I access Final Fantasy 14 on different platforms?
    Final Fantasy 14 is available on various platforms, including PC, PS4, PS5, and soon on Xbox Series X/S. Players can access the game through the respective platform’s storefronts.